Writers for Peace

The Writers for Peace Committee (WfPC) was created in 1984. It consists of 35 out of 145 PEN Centres, among them PEN Germany. Miloš Mikeln, a Slovene writer, founded the committee and Tone Peršak currently chairs it. The Slovene PEN hosts the international committee’s annual conference in Bled, Slovenia. Furthermore, the committee is assembled during the annual conferences of PEN International.

The meetings in Bled give authors from politically opposed countries the opportunity to openly discuss and exchange ideas. For instance, Israeli and Palestinian authors are able to engage in a vivid encounter. Similarly, delegates from newer areas of conflict also make use of the meetings, e.g. representatives of PEN Somalia and Mexico as well as the Uighur PEN Centre.

While the meetings were a predominantly European affair during the early years of the WfPC, recent decades have seen a considerable expansion of their reach. Delegates from around the world travel to the Slovenian lakeside resort, not least in order to document the violation of human rights in areas of armed conflict.

The work of the committee significantly transcends practical peace building though. The 40th meeting in Bled in 2008 generated a declaration which defines its fields of operation. It illustrates the expansion of a peace policy to a more holistic human rights policy which includes ecological issues such as renewable energy and water as well as the basic human right to education. A reference should be made to a blog (accessible under: A Permanent Whisper as a Cry for Peace – Escritores para a Paz) which lists the areas of crisis that the committee currently focuses on.

Naturally, the recent confrontation in Ukraine initiated an involvement of the WfPC. In an appeal on 4th March 2014, the new president of the committee, Tone Peršak, addresses “all Ukrainian writers and other intellectuals in Ukraine”, compelling them to “do everything they can to assert the principles of a democratic dialogue about the situation in and the future of Ukraine”. Moreover, the appeal states: “The Committee calls upon the new government of Ukraine (…) and all responsible political and opinion leaders to do everything in their power to calm their people, respecting at the same time freedom of speech and thought, and, above all, to strive for a peaceful dialogue between all political groups in Ukraine. (…) The Committee also urges all responsible state representatives in Europe (…) not to get involved in conflicts and to avoid any attempt to take advantage of the situation in Ukraine for their own benefit. We strongly appeal to all sides to decline any violence or military intervention. We call upon them to respect the territorial unity and sovereignty of Ukraine, the right of Ukrainian people to decide their own future and to respect the freedom of expression of all people in Ukraine and in their own countries” (Source: PEN International).

The annual meetings in Bled take on the character of literary symposiums as well as initiative conferences of a peace committee. If the conferences and the general efforts of the WfPC had a motto, it could be based on a quotation by Roland Barthes: Guerre des langues, paix des textes – War of languages, peace of texts.

Other concrete initiatives of the WfPC consist of the attendance of numerous regional conferences, the preparation of a Charte sur le Développement durable (Charter for Sustainable Progress) and various peace building activities all over the world. Countless petitions concerning the situation in different regions of the world such as Columbia, China, Tibet, Burma, Korea, Iran, and Russia are penned and published by the WfPC. In addition, the WfPC speaks on behalf of lingual minorities and is involved in various projects in Haifa, Trieste, and the Far East. Another addition is the Okinawa Peace Prize awarded by PEN Japan.

The manifold activities of the WfPC often happen covertly owing to the para-diplomatic character of some initiatives and the fact that the committee often acts when conflicts have already disapeared from the focus of the international press. Nonetheless, future efforts of the WfPC as part of the humanitarian focus of PEN’s commitment might have to seek a greater audience.

Hans Thill,

April 2014

Sponsoren

Logo Auswärtiges Amt

Writers-for-Peace

Das Writers-for-Peace-Committee besteht seit 1984. Ihm gehören 35 der derzeit insgesamt 145 PEN-Zentren an, darunter das PEN-Zentrum Deutschland. Die Gründung geht auf den slowenischen PEN-Autor Miloš Mikeln zurück, der jetzige Vorsitzende ist Tone Peršak. Der Slowenische PEN ist Gastgeber des jährlichen Treffens des internationalen Komitees in Bled/Slowenien. Ferner versammelt sich das PEN-Komitee während der Jahrestagungen des Internationalen PEN.

Im Rahmen der Bleder Treffen haben Autorinnen und Autoren, deren Obrigkeiten einander bekämpfen, die Gelegenheit zu offenem Meinungsaustausch. So nutzen beispielsweise Mitglieder des Israelischen und Palästinensischen P.E.N. die Mitarbeit im Writers-for-Peace-Committee zur aktiven Begegnung. Auch Delegierte aus neueren Konfliktgebieten nehmen die Treffen des Komitees wahr, etwa Vertreter der P.E.N.-Zentren Somalia und Mexiko und des Uigurischen P.E.N.- Zentrums.

Waren die Bleder Treffen in den ersten Jahren nach der Gründung des Writers-for-Peace-Committees vor allem ein europäisches Friedenstreffen, so hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten der Radius des Friedenskomitees beträchtlich ausgeweitet. Delegierte aus der ganzen Welt reisen in den slowenischen Kurort, nicht zuletzt um Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu dokumentieren, die im Umkreis bewaffneter Konflikte begangen werden.

Die Arbeit des Komitees geht jedoch weit über die praktische Friedensarbeit hinaus. Beim 40. Friedenstreffen in Bled im Jahr 2008 wurde eine Erklärung erarbeitet, die die Betätigungsfelder des Komitees absteckt.

Diese Erklärung zeigt die Erweiterung reiner Friedenspolitik zu einer ganzheitlicheren Menschenrechtspolitik, die ökologische Inhalte wie beispielsweise die Themenfelder Erneuerbare Energien und Wasser ebenso mit einschließt wie das grundlegende Recht auf Bildung. Verwiesen sei in diesem Zusammenhang auf einen Blog, derzeit verfügbar unter der URL http://permanentwhisper.penclubeportugue… diesem kann man entnehmen, welche Krisengebiete in der Aktivität des Friedenskomitees eine große Rolle spielen.

Natürlich ist auch die aktuelle Konfrontation in der Ukraine Gegenstand für ein Engagement. In einem Aufruf vom 4. März 2014 wendet sich der neue Präsident des Komitees, Tone Peršak, an „alle ukrainischen Schriftsteller und andere Intellektuelle in der Ukraine“ und fordert sie dazu auf, „alles zu tun, damit die Prinzipien des demokratischen Dialogs Anwendung finden, wenn es um die Situation in der Ukraine und ihre Zukunft geht”. In dem Aufruf heißt es weiter: „Das Komitee fordert außerdem alle zuständigen Landesvertreter in Europa, insbesondere in der Russischen Föderation, dazu auf, nicht den Konflikt zu suchen und von jedem Versuch abzusehen, die Situation in der Ukraine zum eigenen Vorteil auszunutzen. Wir appellieren dringend an alle Seiten, jede Gewalt oder militärische Intervention abzulehnen. Wir fordern sie auf, die territoriale Einheit und Souveränität der Ukraine, sowie das Recht der ukrainischen Bevölkerung zu wahren, selbst über seine Zukunft zu entscheiden, und die Meinungsfreiheit aller Menschen in der Ukraine und in ihren eigenen Ländern zu respektieren.“

Die jährlichen Treffen in Bled haben den Charakter von literarischen Fachtagungen, aber auch von Initiativsitzungen eines Friedenskomitees. Den Tagungen wie der gesamten Arbeit der WfPC könnte man als Motto ein Zitat von Roland Barthes voranstellen: Guerre des langues, paix des textes – Krieg der Sprachen, Friede der Texte.

Weitere konkrete Initiativen des WfPCs bestehen in der Teilnahme an zahlreichen Regionalkonferenzen, der Vorbereitung einer Charte sur le Développement durable (Charta zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung) und verschiedenen Friedensaktivitäten überall auf der Welt. Zahlreiche Petitionen, die die Situation in verschiedenen Weltregionen wie etwa Kolumbien, China, Tibet, Burma, Korea, Iran und Russland betrafen, wurden vom WfPC verfasst und öffentlich gemacht. Das WfPC engagiert sich weiterhin für sprachliche Minderheiten und hat verschiedene Projekte in Haifa, Triest und Fernost initiiert. Zu erwähnen ist auch der Okinawa Peace Prize, der vom japanischen P.E.N. vergeben wird.

Die vielfältigen Aktivitäten des Writers-for-Peace-Commitees finden oft im Verborgenen statt. Das steht ursächlich in direktem Zusammenhang mit dem quasi-diplomatischen Charakter mancher Initiativen und der Tatsache, dass das Komitee meist dann tätig wird, wenn die großen Konflikte aus den Weltnachrichten schon wieder verschwunden sind. Allerdings wird es in der Zukunft auch darauf ankommen, dass die Tätigkeit des WfPCs, die ja direkt in den Kernbereich des humanitären P.E.N.-Engagements gehört, eine größere Öffentlichkeit findet.

Hans Thill,

April 2014

Sponsoren

Logo Auswärtiges Amt