Elsbeth-Wolffheim-Scholarship of the Science City of Darmstadt

In 2004, the Science City of Darmstadt and the PEN Center Germany set up a grant to give a writer the opportunity to pursue his or her work as a writer in peace and without financial hardship.

The scholarship, which is awarded for a period of one year, is named after the writer Elsbeth Wolffheim, who died in 2002 and who organized German PEN activities for politically persecuted authors for many years.

Previous scholarship holders

Since march 2022 Pezhman Golchin (Iran)
2018 – 2021 Tomislav Kezharovski (Nordmazedonien)
2015 – 2018 Enoh Meyomesse (Kamerun)
2014 – 2015 Shahla Sultanova (Aserbaidschan)
2011 – 2013 Sanath Balasooriya (Sri Lanka)
2007 – 2010 Maynat Kurbanova (Tschetschenien)
2005 – 2006 Rhoda Mashavave (Zimbabwe)
2004 – 2005 Elvira Rodríguez Puerto (Kuba)